Akon Arrives Lagos for AFRIMA 2017 

Multi-Platinum international Artiste, Akon arrived Lagos yesterday to host 

the 2017 All Africa Music Awards scheduled for Sunday, 12th of November,

2012 at the Eko Hotels and Suites by 4PM. The artiste felt immediately at

home in the host city as fans gathered to catch a glimpse of stardom while

the executive producer of AFRIMA, Mike Dada and some members of the

international committee of AFRIMA welcomed him to Nigeria.
The Senegalese born American superstar was announced as the host alongside

Cameroonian-French entertainment broadcaster, Sophy Aiida by the

international Committee of AFRIMA and the African Union Commission on

Monday, 30th October 2017.

Akon is a 360 entertainer; a singer, songwriter, record producer and

actor, he is the number 1 selling artiste for master ringtones in the

world. Akon has won five Grammy awards for his A-list hit albums. The

Konvict, and Kon Live Republic Music guru is also a business man and

philanthropist who is passionate about his continent. Akon is ranked 5th

Most Powerful Celebrity in Forbes’s Africa list of 40, he provides

electricity for 15 countries through his Lights Africa Project, and

supports underprivileged African youngsters through his Konfidence


Music Legend, Salif Keita amongst other artistes had also arrived Lagos

for the AFRIMA 2017 Awards ceremony. Superstars, Bussine (Gabon), Young

Paris (DRC),Ewube (Cameroon), Nsoki (Angola), Locko(Cameroon) from Central

Africa. From Eastern Africa region, Feza (Tanzania), Bebe Cool (Uganda),

Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania), Wayna Wondowoseen (Ethiopia), Eddy Kenzo

(Uganda), Henok and Mehari Brothers (Ethiopia), Juliana Kanyomozi

(Uganda), Octopizzo (Kenya) have arrived.  Other artistes are Amanda Black

(South Africa), Babes Wodumo (South Africa), Rue (Zimbabwe), Sally Boss

Madam (Namibia), Emtee (South Africa), Nasty C (South Africa) Nduduzo

Makhathini (South Africa), Tay Grin (Malawi) from Southern Africa Region.

Ibitssam Tiskat (Morocco) represented Northern Africa Region. Becca

(Ghana), Oumou Sangare (Mali), Kandia Kora (Guinea), Dark Surburb (Ghana),

Viviane Chidid (Senegal), Zeynab (Benin), Soul bangs (Guinea), Neza

(Rwanda), Degg J Force (Guinea), Toofan (Togo), R2Bees (Ghana), Mi Casa

(Ghana) from Western Africa Region.

Host country artistes; Nigerian artistes, Aramide,  Seyi Shay , Tiwa

Savage, Yemi Alade from Nigeria, Adekunle Gold, Simi, Wande Coal, Niniola,

and  Timaya are going to sharing the stage with their African


The AFRIMA 2017 main awards ceremony will take place after the Red Carpet

session where the crème of the creative industry, music lovers and

diplomatic and government personalities will make their presence grand at

the AFRIMA 2017 Red Carpet. Tickets for the AFRIMA Main awards ceremony

are available on www.afrima.org, ariyatickets.com, nairabox.com and at Eko

Hotels AND Suites,venue of the event.

Log in or Register to save this content for later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *